Beauty · beautyblogger · Favorites · Makeup · Review

August Beauty Favorites

Hello! This post is going to be up a little earlier than expected but we only have another week or so of August, and I’m certain that these products are my definite favorites of this month. I’ll be doing a mini review on each of the products, hope you enjoy!

1

Some of these products are new this month to my collection, but some I have had for a while but I didn’t really love them until this month. I always feel like in Summer I am more open to test and try out new products, but in the Winter I like to keep a routine of the same products. Does anyone else feel like this?

Firstly, I got a mini of the new Benefit Dew The Hoola Liquid Bronzer in this months ELLE magazine. I have heard lots of things about this product so I was super excited to try it out. At first when it comes out of the pump the color is really dark, so I was immediately worried. But when I swatched it on the back of my hand and rubbed it in, it turned into a beautiful soft matte bronzer. I use this product on top of my foundation wear I usually put my powder bronzer, such as the hollows of my cheeks, hair line and my neck. This bronzer gives me a warm summer tone to my skin, which is great for me as I am naturally quite pale. It blends really well too, which was another thing I was worried about, the texture is quite thin so its easy to blend. Some times I use my fingers but other times I’ll use my Zoeva 104 Buffer Brush.

Next, is the NYX Studio Finishing Powder in translucent which is great for baking your concealer and just for setting your foundation in general. But sometimes when I bake my concealer for too long with this powder, and I sweep it off with a brush, it sometimes leaves a white mark. I think the thing is not to leave it on for too long because that might be the outcome of this powder, but it is great for use as a setting powder under the eyes. It also does highlight too, which is great!

4

My next favorite is one that I discovered whilst shopping on beautybay, it is the Gerard Cosmetics Hydra Matte Liquid Lipstick in the shade ‘Everything nice’. I must say that it is a much darker color on the lips than it looks on the packaging, but I think this does depend on your skin tone, as I’m quite pale it looks more dark on me than it probably would on someone with a darker skin tone. But I do love the color, I would say that it is a light brown with a kind of pink undertone. I have been getting in liquid lipsticks lately and I have to say that this one is my favorite, the color is very pigmented, it is long lasting and the packaging is pretty. This brings me onto my next beauty favorite of this month which is another liquid lipstick, I just couldn’t not put this one in! It is the NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in the shade ‘Amsterdam’, I think I have already spoken a little about this in one of my other posts, but I love the formula of these lip creams, also they smell of marshmallows! (always a bonus!) The red just brightens up any makeup look, especially if you aren’t doing a great deal of eye makeup.

5

The last couple of products are for the eyes, the first one is the KIKO eyeshadow in the shade ‘Pearly Salmon’. These are a bestseller from KIKO, and I can understand why! They are super cheap, good pigmentation and they blend really easily. I want to try more of these little eyeshadows because they have loads of different colors that look amazing! Lastly, is the Morphe Gel Liner in the shade ‘Black Slate’, I’m not usually the one for eye liner because I have always found it really hard, especially with those cheap ones that you can get from the drugstore with the stupid applicators. So I brought this one in a little pot, I alternate from using my Zoeva Wing Liner brush or the Zoeva Fine Liner brush. Using these brushes makes it much easier to apply gel liner, not only can you tell how much you have on your brush, but you can actually get a precise wing. Also, the color is really black, I am saying this because usually the color of gel liners say they are black, when they are actually a light black or dark brown. You couldn’t get a blacker gel liner if you tried!

Thank you for reading! Lots of love,

Chloe xox

2 thoughts on “August Beauty Favorites

Leave a Reply

