Beauty · beautyblogger · Review · Skin care

Battle of the Drugstore lip Balms

Hello everyone! I hope you are all having a great day, today’s post is going to be a ‘battle of the drugstore lip balms’. I am going to be telling you my honest opinion about 5 different drugstore lip balms, and I will decide which one I think is best. All of the lip balms are around the same price range, all of these products were purchased with my own money. Lets get into it!

all lip balms edited

These are all the lip balms that will be going against each other, I did not buy all of these products at once but they have all had a good try. All of these have their advantages and disadvantages, but one of them will be the winner!

First up is Carmex, they do this type of packaging and the other where you can retract the product in the container which I will be reviewing later on in this post, in order to compare with this one. I like the packaging of this product because it holds so much product, also linking to that, a little goes a long way with this product which is always a good sign. I use my finger to apply this lip balm, I find that it is sort of like a thick oily consistency but don’t be put off by my description of it! I got this product in strawberry and it smells amazing! It also has an SPF of 15 in which will be so good for the summer, great product. Next, is the original Palmer’s cocoa butter formula lip balm. Firstly I was put off by the packaging because it is a retractable tube but it is really awkward to use. But the actual product is really good, it smells like chocolate and the formula is hard to start with but soon melts softly onto the lips. This product also has an SPF of 15 and it has added vitamin E!

 

Next is the retractable Carmex tube. I find that the formula for this Carmex is different because this one is more sticky and it feels more thick than the other one, it also lasts loner on the lips. A advantage of this product is that if you get too much product that you don’t want, you can just retract it back in but with the other Carmex you can’t. Again like the others this lip balm has an SPF of 15 and I brought it in the scent vanilla. I can’t fault this product, I love it! The next lip balm is by Nivea, which states that it is suppose to soothe and protect the lips, I think that this product would work best in summer because it focuses on looking after the lips, as it contains SPF 15. Also, this product leaves a more matte finish unlike the Carmex but it is still hydrating. I like both of these products, I think that Carmex would be better for Winter time and Nivea would work best in the summer.

eos edited

Lastly, it is the EOS lip balm in the scent strawberry. I brought this lip balm in Topshop in the city I live in, but they now sell them in Boots but I’m not sure about Superdrug. This lip balm is the most expensive out of all of these others but that does not mean it is the best! But as you can see there is hardly any left in this because I have used it so much, I wouldn’t recommend this lip balm for someone who has really dry lips because I feel like it doesn’t do much to your lips. It makes them look sort of matte but I feel like nothing is actually happening when you have it on. These lip balms are good for on the go because they are small and make your lips look good, but for someone with really dry or chapped lips I would not recommend. Overall, I like this lip balm but I wouldn’t use it on days where I want more coverage and protection.

Finally, the winner of this blog post is the Carmex in the retractable tube, because of the simplicity of it, the protection it gives and how long it lasts with no re applying. Thank you so much for reading! If you have any blog post suggestions, feel free to leave them down below! Lots of love,

Chloe xox

WHERE TO BUY:

EOS

Carmex tube

Palmer’s cocoa butter formula lip balm

Nivea soothe and protect lip balm

Carmex retractable tube

4 thoughts on “Battle of the Drugstore lip Balms

Leave a Reply

